The Mini-Case of the Missing Pen

Dear sleuthy readers,

You know those days where your boss is a cranky-pants and likes to complain to you about it while you have better things to do. Yeah, love those days. In this case, such a day turned into a case. A mini case. A silly case. But I’m still sharing it with you. You’ll see why.

I was sitting at my desk, typing up one of my files when PI Addison was grumbling something about losing his favourite fountain pen. It was engraved and everything. Now, I’m not one to stand between the love of a man and his pen so I suggested I’d help him find it, since I’m good at finding lost things…and I hate typing up files.

The first thing you should do when you’ve lost something is retrace your steps. So I asked Addison where he’d last seen his precious baby and where he’d been between that time and now. First of all I was to understand that his pen was NOT his precious baby, second he hadn’t left his office and he’d seen it there this morning.

That’s an important clue because it means it’s still in the office, but when we went to look EVERYWHERE, it wasn’t there. So what happened? Did a dragon eat it? Did a mouse kidnap it? Did it fly out of the window to marry another fountain pen?

Think outside the box, people. The box may be snug and comfortable but that is usually not where the truth lies. The only thing that was also in the room, along with the pen was Addison himself.

Upon forcing a search on Addison, he discovered the fountain pen in his breast pocket, hidden under  his jacket. This didn’t do much to improve his sunny disposition but hey, I said I’d found it and I did.

Unfortunately I don’t get paid for small mini-cases like that, so scurrying back to my files.

Luckily the Goddess of Mysteries smiles favourably on me because at that moment a dishevelled-looking woman dashed into our office. There’s nothing like a damsel in distress to spice up your day. She wanted our help, but do you know why? No, you don’t, but you may guess…

 

a)      She had been mugged nearby and was looking for help

b)      She had attacked her ex and needed somewhere to hide

c)       She had jumped out of a moving car because her mother was being a Hyacinth

d)      She had lost her six year old son

 

Hmm, it’s probably fair if I give you a vague clue that you probably won’t understand…Here it is:

 

What isn’t lost can’t be found,

What isn’t yours can’t be bound.

The truth isn’t hiding if it’s in plain sight,

And two wrongs don’t make a right.

 

Weird and vague, right? Good. I have to keep you busy until I lift up the veil a bit more next time.

Until then, dear sleuthy reader.

 

Penelope out!

 

Mood: Curious.

Hair: Messy. But in a good way.

Food: Skittles. It counts.

Random word of the day: Vulpine (meaning: fox-like; cunning).

 

fountain_pen

 

 

Leave a Reply

